HomeCelebritySergio Garcia Slams An Official During A Contentious Rule, Calling It "Absolute...

Sergio Garcia Slams An Official During A Contentious Rule, Calling It “Absolute Bull-Shit.”

On Thursday at TPC Potomac, one slightly confusing portion of the Rules of Golf took center stage alongside a rules officer and a furious Sergio Garcia, who threatened to quit the PGA Tour in the process.

Does it seem like a lot? It was a lot, to be sure.

During the first round of the Wells Fargo Championship, Garcia hooked his tee shot into high grass near a stream on the 10th hole. Everything left of the stream was a hazard because the hazard line started on the right side of the stream.

Garcia continued on his way, looking for a location to cross the creek and start looking for his misplaced disk. What was unclear to the majority of those concerned was when the three minutes he was given to look for his ball began.

Was it while he was walking parallel to his ball on the right bank of the stream? Or would it start as soon as he crossed the stream? We’d have to investigate. Even the on-course reporter, John Maginnes, was unsure.

Sergio Garcia Slams An Official During A Contentious Rule, Calling It "Absolute Bull-Shit."

Garcia started his journey across the creek, carefully stepping from rock to rock. He even took a break to show a snake to a nearby cameraman. Garcia smiled — everything was fine!

Here’s the Tweet by Sean Zak

And when he finally found his ball a few minutes later, he was overjoyed, if only for a brief period. After establishing that the ball was his, he yelled for his caddie to join him, and John Swantek characterized it beautifully on the broadcast: “Hoo, a buzzer beater.” “It was only a matter of time.”

Except it wasn’t.

Just moments after Garcia informed his teammates that he had located his ball, a rules official revealed that it had taken him four minutes to locate it, implying that Garcia’s ball was discovered but officially lost.

What followed was one of golf’s classic mini-niche disputes. When did Garcia start looking for answers? Was that when he was kicking through the grass on the right side of the stream, head down? The rules official confirmed this. Or did his three minutes start when he crossed the stream after being told it was there? The fact that Garcia was alone on his side of the creek added to the strangeness of the situation.

On that side of the water, no caddies, players, or anyone walking with the group joined Garcia in the quest.

Sergio Garcia Slams An Official During A Contentious Rule, Calling It "Absolute Bull-Shit."

As he returned to the mainland of the course, he began to mock the verdict. “Would you like me to swim across the river?” I had no intention of looking for the ball there. When I went over to this side, I was looking for the ball. That makes sense, right? It was on this side of the river, I knew.”

What occurred next carried the absurdity to new heights. “So, you’re saying it took too long?” Garcia remarked, brushing flies away from his face as the rules officer reiterated his decision.

ALSO READ: Jussie Smollett Was Sentenced To Prison For Filing A False Hate Crime Report

Then he looked away and said, “I can’t wait to get out of this Tour.” That was most likely a signal that Garcia intends to compete in the Saudi-backed LIV series, which begins June 9 in London.

Here’s the Tweet by The Fried Egg

Garcia said, “I can’t wait to get out of here, my friend,” as he picked up his ball and walked back to the fairway. “I won’t have to deal with you for another couple of weeks.”

“The point is, there simply happened to be a rules officer there,” Maginnes said on the broadcast to defend Garcia. No one is time themselves with a wristwatch, after all. Nobody in the group was going to say four minutes and fifteen seconds. Someone who does the same thing in a different scenario without an official timing them is not going to be fined.”

ALSO READ: Nick Robinson And George Eustice Are Embroiled In A War Of Words Over Partygate And Pornography 

Sergio Garcia Slams An Official During A Contentious Rule, Calling It "Absolute Bull-Shit."

When watching the live news, it’s a valid point. Garcia makes it apparent early on that he plans to search on the opposite bank of the stream. It’s a hazardous journey back to the spot, passing through high grass and across rocks and water. When did he start looking for her? As Garcia landed, the point of contention remained in his mind.

“I’m going to play slow now, okay?” Garcia shouted across the fairway as he placed his clubs into his staff bag. He snatched an iron for a layup before berating the official. “That is complete nonsense. That is complete nonsense. You don’t tell me I’m a minute and a half behind schedule?”

The game required to progress at that time. Gary Woodland and Luke List had waited a long time for the agony to begin, delivering nothing in the way of rule clarification. Garcia hit a 10-footer and holed the putt for a stunning par. He then holed out for eagle from 161 yards away four holes later. Because, obviously.

ALSO READ: Liam Neeson Controversy: Talks About The 2019 Racism Argument In Atlanta Cameo: “I’m Sorry If I Hurt Anyone.” 

Garcia reportedly declined to speak to media afterward, according to Golf Channel. “Garcia was apprised of the developments following his round,” according to the Tour release.

The following is the whole tour press release:

Here’s the Tweet by PGA TOUR Communications

“The PGA Tour has issued an official statement.”

“After Steve Rintoul’s thorough examination of the footage, clarification on Sergio Garcia’s ruling.”

“Wells Fargo Championship, May 5, 2022”

Sergio Garcia Slams An Official During A Contentious Rule, Calling It "Absolute Bull-Shit."

“On the 10th hole of the Wells Fargo Championship’s first round on Thursday, Sergio Garcia drove his ball left into a red penalty area. A referee on the 10th hole started a search time clock as Garcia entered the penalty area, indicating that a hunt for the golf ball had begun. Unbeknownst to the referee, a TV spotter informed the players in the group that the ball was on the other side of the creek, and Garcia spent a significant amount of time attempting to cross the water. Because the referee was distracted by other players in the group, the time clock on the search continued to tick when it should have been suspended. Garcia discovered the ball after the referee’s three-minute search time had expired, and Garcia was notified that the ball had been declared lost. Garcia used back-on-the-line relief from a red penalty area to operate under Rule 17.1d (2). Garcia aced the hole with a score of 5 (par).

“After the ruling, the Rules Committee analyzed video from the situation and determined the referee’s unintended error in not realizing the player was not looking for the ball on the other side of the creek.” To be clear, Garcia’s time spent attempting to cross the creek should have delayed the start of the search time clock, and the ball would still be “in play” if it hadn’t been for that error. Following his round, Garcia was notified of the developments. Despite this clarification, Garcia’s score does not alter under the Rules of Golf.”

RELATED ARTICLES

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Recent Posts

Sergio Garcia Slams An Official During A Contentious Rule, Calling It “Absolute Bull-Shit.”

On Thursday at TPC Potomac, one slightly confusing portion of the Rules of Golf took center stage alongside a rules officer and a furious Sergio Garcia, who threatened to quit the PGA Tour in the process.

Does it seem like a lot? It was a lot, to be sure.

During the first round of the Wells Fargo Championship, Garcia hooked his tee shot into high grass near a stream on the 10th hole. Everything left of the stream was a hazard because the hazard line started on the right side of the stream.

Garcia continued on his way, looking for a location to cross the creek and start looking for his misplaced disk. What was unclear to the majority of those concerned was when the three minutes he was given to look for his ball began.

Was it while he was walking parallel to his ball on the right bank of the stream? Or would it start as soon as he crossed the stream? We’d have to investigate. Even the on-course reporter, John Maginnes, was unsure.

Sergio Garcia Slams An Official During A Contentious Rule, Calling It "Absolute Bull-Shit."

Garcia started his journey across the creek, carefully stepping from rock to rock. He even took a break to show a snake to a nearby cameraman. Garcia smiled — everything was fine!

Here’s the Tweet by Sean Zak

And when he finally found his ball a few minutes later, he was overjoyed, if only for a brief period. After establishing that the ball was his, he yelled for his caddie to join him, and John Swantek characterized it beautifully on the broadcast: “Hoo, a buzzer beater.” “It was only a matter of time.”

Except it wasn’t.

Just moments after Garcia informed his teammates that he had located his ball, a rules official revealed that it had taken him four minutes to locate it, implying that Garcia’s ball was discovered but officially lost.

What followed was one of golf’s classic mini-niche disputes. When did Garcia start looking for answers? Was that when he was kicking through the grass on the right side of the stream, head down? The rules official confirmed this. Or did his three minutes start when he crossed the stream after being told it was there? The fact that Garcia was alone on his side of the creek added to the strangeness of the situation.

On that side of the water, no caddies, players, or anyone walking with the group joined Garcia in the quest.

Sergio Garcia Slams An Official During A Contentious Rule, Calling It "Absolute Bull-Shit."

As he returned to the mainland of the course, he began to mock the verdict. “Would you like me to swim across the river?” I had no intention of looking for the ball there. When I went over to this side, I was looking for the ball. That makes sense, right? It was on this side of the river, I knew.”

What occurred next carried the absurdity to new heights. “So, you’re saying it took too long?” Garcia remarked, brushing flies away from his face as the rules officer reiterated his decision.

ALSO READ: Jussie Smollett Was Sentenced To Prison For Filing A False Hate Crime Report

Then he looked away and said, “I can’t wait to get out of this Tour.” That was most likely a signal that Garcia intends to compete in the Saudi-backed LIV series, which begins June 9 in London.

Here’s the Tweet by The Fried Egg

Garcia said, “I can’t wait to get out of here, my friend,” as he picked up his ball and walked back to the fairway. “I won’t have to deal with you for another couple of weeks.”

“The point is, there simply happened to be a rules officer there,” Maginnes said on the broadcast to defend Garcia. No one is time themselves with a wristwatch, after all. Nobody in the group was going to say four minutes and fifteen seconds. Someone who does the same thing in a different scenario without an official timing them is not going to be fined.”

ALSO READ: Nick Robinson And George Eustice Are Embroiled In A War Of Words Over Partygate And Pornography 

Sergio Garcia Slams An Official During A Contentious Rule, Calling It "Absolute Bull-Shit."

When watching the live news, it’s a valid point. Garcia makes it apparent early on that he plans to search on the opposite bank of the stream. It’s a hazardous journey back to the spot, passing through high grass and across rocks and water. When did he start looking for her? As Garcia landed, the point of contention remained in his mind.

“I’m going to play slow now, okay?” Garcia shouted across the fairway as he placed his clubs into his staff bag. He snatched an iron for a layup before berating the official. “That is complete nonsense. That is complete nonsense. You don’t tell me I’m a minute and a half behind schedule?”

The game required to progress at that time. Gary Woodland and Luke List had waited a long time for the agony to begin, delivering nothing in the way of rule clarification. Garcia hit a 10-footer and holed the putt for a stunning par. He then holed out for eagle from 161 yards away four holes later. Because, obviously.

ALSO READ: Liam Neeson Controversy: Talks About The 2019 Racism Argument In Atlanta Cameo: “I’m Sorry If I Hurt Anyone.” 

Garcia reportedly declined to speak to media afterward, according to Golf Channel. “Garcia was apprised of the developments following his round,” according to the Tour release.

The following is the whole tour press release:

Here’s the Tweet by PGA TOUR Communications

“The PGA Tour has issued an official statement.”

“After Steve Rintoul’s thorough examination of the footage, clarification on Sergio Garcia’s ruling.”

“Wells Fargo Championship, May 5, 2022”

Sergio Garcia Slams An Official During A Contentious Rule, Calling It "Absolute Bull-Shit."

“On the 10th hole of the Wells Fargo Championship’s first round on Thursday, Sergio Garcia drove his ball left into a red penalty area. A referee on the 10th hole started a search time clock as Garcia entered the penalty area, indicating that a hunt for the golf ball had begun. Unbeknownst to the referee, a TV spotter informed the players in the group that the ball was on the other side of the creek, and Garcia spent a significant amount of time attempting to cross the water. Because the referee was distracted by other players in the group, the time clock on the search continued to tick when it should have been suspended. Garcia discovered the ball after the referee’s three-minute search time had expired, and Garcia was notified that the ball had been declared lost. Garcia used back-on-the-line relief from a red penalty area to operate under Rule 17.1d (2). Garcia aced the hole with a score of 5 (par).

“After the ruling, the Rules Committee analyzed video from the situation and determined the referee’s unintended error in not realizing the player was not looking for the ball on the other side of the creek.” To be clear, Garcia’s time spent attempting to cross the creek should have delayed the start of the search time clock, and the ball would still be “in play” if it hadn’t been for that error. Following his round, Garcia was notified of the developments. Despite this clarification, Garcia’s score does not alter under the Rules of Golf.”

RELATED ARTICLES

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Recent Posts